TP-LINK TL-WN722N Wireless N150 High Gain USB Adapter,150Mbps, w/4 dBi High Gain Detachable Antenna, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, WEP, WPA/WPA2 Reviews

April 12th, 2013 by admin software


TP-LINK TL-WN722N Wireless N150 High Gain USB Adapter,150Mbps, w/4 dBi High Gain Detachable Antenna, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, WEP, WPA/WPA2

TP-LINK TL-WN722N Wireless N150 High Gain USB Adapter,150Mbps, w/4 dBi High Gain Detachable Antenna, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, WEP, WPA/WPA2

  • 150Mbps wireless transmission rate
  • Provides two methods of operation: Infrastructure and Ad-Hoc
  • Quick Secure Setup, complies with WPS for worry free wireless security Supports 64/128-bit WEP
  • 4dBi omni-directional antenna detachable Supports Windows 2000, Windows XP (32/64-bit), Windows Vista (32/64-bit), and Windows 7 (32/64-bit).
  • Seamlessly compatible with 802.11b/g/n devices

TP-Link TL-WN722N 150Mbps High Gain Wireless USB Adapter

List Price: $ 21.91

Price: $ 9.99

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Security Code:

3 Responses to “TP-LINK TL-WN722N Wireless N150 High Gain USB Adapter,150Mbps, w/4 dBi High Gain Detachable Antenna, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, WEP, WPA/WPA2 Reviews”

  1. Comment by Tony in SF
    294 of 307 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    This little thing is awesome!, January 15, 2011
    By 
    Tony in SF (San Francisco) –
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WN722N Wireless N150 High Gain USB Adapter,150Mbps, w/4 dBi High Gain Detachable Antenna, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, WEP, WPA/WPA2 (Personal Computers)

    ———————————————————-
    UPDATED: January 23, 2012 (Update section below)
    ———————————————————-

    Installed January 14, 2011 and still excellent. I expect this thing to last at least until December 21 this year, when of course the Mayans have scheduled the world for demolition. :P

    Here’s my take on the TP-Link TL-WN722N Wireless USB Adapter:

    ————-
    POSITIVES:
    ————-
    ** It really, really works like mad. ** I get constant download speeds of 12Mbps+, which is close the the max of my internet bandwidth.

    - It’s very cheap cost-wise for the great performance it gives you

    - It’s small(ish), though it will look big connected to your laptop

    - Comes with a 3′ USB extension cable which I definitely recommend using. It helps position the device, and keeps it from crowding your laptop or from being destroyed by being knocked out of your PC’s front USB port.

    - Has a diffused green LED under the white plastic to let you know it’s working, instead of the blinding blue LEDs that everyone uses these days. The light turns off when it’s not powered (like when you hit Standby on your PC). NOTE: It’s still annoying in a dark room when I’m trying to sleep, but a few post-it notes helps that.

    - The software is relatively simple to install and use, and allows you to use other products to manage your WiFi instead.

    - The current driver, software, and documents come on a mini CD and are all up to date with what’s available on TP-Link’s web site

    - The documentation is good, but it could use some more detail.

    ———————-
    MINOR NEGATIVES:
    ———————-
    - The TP-LINK Wireless Client Utility is functional but could be more intuitive. A configuration “wizard” would be a good improvement for manual configs. (It has been updated as of Jan 5, 2012 – see below)

    - Manual configuration (which you need if your network is securely hidden and requires a pass code) isn’t well-documented, though you will be able to get it to work with the document, and maybe a little trial and error. If your setup is totally open security-wise (this would be BAD), you will have no problem with the software.

    - Even if the driver is installed incorrectly, the client utility may report enough information to make you think it is installed. When in doubt, do a complete removal of the software and drivers and re-install.

    - The QSS software that comes with the device is ONLY usable with other TP-Link products. Don’t bother installing it unless you have a TP-Link Router/Access Point that has QSS built in. (As of the client update on Jan. 5, 2012, it appears to be installed automatically)

    ————————
    UPDATED 01-23-2012
    ————————
    - I’ve kept track, and this device has worked well even with interference from Coronal Mass Ejections from the sun (sunspot activity), though I have noticed that the performance decreases (could be other things along that long internet path, as well).

    - I now have a TP-Link TL-WA901ND 2.0 Access Point, which this device works well with. Unfortunately is does NOT connect at the advertised “150Mbps” potential speed when it’s configured to do so, but I never really expected it to. My max internet connection of 13Mbps is far below that high rating, anyway.

    - The latest WiFi utility for this device is up on TP-Link’s web site as of Jan. 5, 2012, and I’m a bit disappointed with it. On the plus side, it is probably simpler to use – which is a good thing for most users, but it’s been dumbed down to remove all of the extra connection info power users like me appreciate. The message windows are also annoying and the English grammar is sometimes embarrassingly wrong. It also looks a bit cheesy compared to the previous utility version. At least it works well.

    - It is difficult to tell if the actual hardware drivers have been updated, because software info on the page for this device is really incomplete. It looks like they are not updated since I originally posted this review.

    - I still benefit from disconnecting and reconnecting the device once in a great while, but the problem that causes the lowered performance could be my PC, the access point, or electromagnetic interference. Hard to say.

    - To date, 4 people were helpless in the face of my review – maybe it put them to sleep. Thanks very much to everyone who took the time to click “Yes”.

    —————————–
    My installation experience
    —————————–
    A friend of mine needed a WiFi adapter since she moved to a location that wasn’t wired, so I recommended this to her based on the great reviews it’s received. She successfully and easily installed this device on her…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. Comment by Ryan McCrillis "Ryan McCrillis"
    95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Great Product!, October 4, 2011
    By 
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

    I am a soldier in Afghanistan where I live in a tent. The nearest internet hotspot is about 120 meters away behind a 1 foot thick concrete blast wall. Before I purchased this relatively inexpensive ‘high-gain’ antenna I had to leave my tent and walk outdoors towards a signal to connect to the internet.
    Now, not only am I able to connect, but I have twice as many choices of networks to connect to. This little gadget is awesome! The upload and download speeds are good enough for SKYPE. It is one of the best devices I’ve purchased since I’ve been here.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. Comment by R. Berry "notBob in Owasso"
    43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    TP-LINK TL-WN722N, July 21, 2010
    By 
    R. Berry “notBob in Owasso” (Owasso, Ok) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WN722N Wireless N150 High Gain USB Adapter,150Mbps, w/4 dBi High Gain Detachable Antenna, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, WEP, WPA/WPA2 (Personal Computers)

    It has my respect for two reasons.
    First, It pulls in a signal from somewhere, not on our acreage.
    And secondly, anywhere I’ve tried it, it has an outstanding, full five bars signal.
    This is paired with an AT&T 2wire wireless G router and has no loss, I can find.
    The Only con is you must D/L Win 7 driver from their site, which took 30 seconds to locate and download. XP and Vista drivers on disc supplied.
    It made my first wireless box happy, the rest remain hardwired, “for now”.
    Simple, Painless, Secure.
    If you are looking for something reliable, this is currently $20 shipped to your place.
    Get you one.
    To test I had 4 secure pages and 2 different HULU channels playing and a few web pages, all open concurrently, and each was clear and fluid.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Get Adobe Flash player